Hong Kong Corporate Governance Excellence Awards 2013

未命名-2The Hong Kong Corporate Governance Excellence Awards 2013, jointly organized by The Chamber of Hong Kong Listed Companies (“CHKLC”) and the Centre for Corporate Governance and Financial Policy (“CCGFP”) of Hong Kong Baptist University is open for nomination until September 23, 2013.

The Awards programme recognizes companies that exhibit a holistic approach to corporate governance and business ethics. The Awards has two award types: Corporate Governance Excellence and Sustainability Excellence. Nominations are open to all companies listed on the Main Board and GEM Board of the HKEx.

The Sustainability Excellence Awards created last year received favourable response with a number of leading Hong Kong and mainland companies taking the award home. To continue to recognize companies that implement business and operational practices that honour the social, environmental and stakeholders’ needs and well-being, the Awards will continue to be given out this year.

“Corporate governance is the cornerstone of a market. It underlies fairness, integrity, transparency and accountability, all of which are crucial drawing points for companies and investors. This Awards Programme is a great means to encourage companies to adopt the best corporate governance measures, showcase success and further strengthen the governance culture of Hong Kong. The Chamber is pleased to be organising the Awards and make contribution to the continual improvement of the quality of our market,” said Dr. K. S. Lo, Chairman of the CHKLC.

The seventh year it is held, the Awards has gained solid reputation, attracting higher participation every year. Its success and credibility can be attributed to the stringent selection process and the high caliber of the judging panel.

From this year, Dr. Eddy Fong, GBS, JP, former Chairman of Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong and Council Chairman of the Open University of Hong Kong, will become the chairman of the judging panel, taking over from Dr. Anthony Neoh who has served in the position for the past six years.

“The fact that our Judging Panel enjoys the support and leadership of two former Hong Kong SFC Chairmen speaks volumes of the standing and quality of our Awards,” Dr. Lo said.

“The level of corporate governance is an important yardstick of the sophistication of a market, and I support means and efforts that would help create a strong culture for it. I am pleased to be part of the long established “Hong Kong Corporate Governance Excellence Awards” and continue my endeavours of upkeeping our market quality,” said Dr. Fong.

Other members of the judging panel are distinguished experts from the fields of regulation, financial, investment, accounting, legal and academia. They will choose the winners using a model of eight key corporate governance and sustainability aspects respectively, developed by the CCGFP. Special attention will be given to companies that demonstrate innovation and significant improvements in corporate governance and/or sustainability made over the past three years; efforts made to internalize and pursue the highest principles of corporate governance and/or sustainability over-and-beyond compliance with requirements; and the ability to show positive business impact of the corporate governance and/or sustainability spirit and practices.

Companies are also encouraged to demonstrate their efforts in adhering to or exceeding the latest rules and regulations governing listed companies and directors, such as Board Diversity and ESG Reporting.

Companies listed on the HKEx are invited to participate in the Corporate Governance Excellence Awards under three categories: Constituents of Hang Seng Index, Constituents of Hang Seng Composite Index, Other Main Board and GEM Board companies. An overall winner may be selected from winners of these three categories. Companies can also enter for the Sustainability Excellence Awards at the same time or independently.

Download nomination form.

, , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes