25th Annual Moskowitz Prize

25th Annual Moskowitz Prize: Call for Papers

25th Annual Moskowitz Prize

25th Annual Moskowitz Prize for Outstanding Quantitative Research in Sustainable and Responsible Investing submission deadline is June 30, 2020. As interest in impact and sustainable investing grows, so too does the recognition that such strategies can outperform, mitigate risk and be resilient in a crisis. That puts a premium on the type of evidence-based practices the Moskowitz Prize has been celebrating for 25 years. According to Kellogg School’s Megan Kashner:

This year’s Moskowitz Prize submissions are proving to represent the growth of the field as well as an expansion of issue areas, geographies, asset classes, and investment approaches examined through rigorous analysis.

The Moskowitz Prize recognizes outstanding quantitative research papers that are relevant to investment practitioners in sustainable and responsible finance. Although the prize is usually awarded to a finance paper, past winners have been from the fields of economics and management as well. Apply Now.

Prize History

The prize is named for Milton Moskowitz (1932-2019), one of the field’s first and most innovative investigators, whose pioneering legacy continues through the Moskowitz Prize. First presented in 1996 by the U.S. Social Investment Forum, the Prize was awarded by UC Berkeley’s Haas School of Business from 2005- 2019. Long-time steward of the prize, Lloyd Kurtz, who heads Wells Fargo’s impact investing team, will move his visiting scholarship from Haas to Kellogg as well. In 2020 the Moskowitz Prize became an initiative of Northwestern University’s Kellogg School of Management. Kellogg is honored to carry forward the legacy of work that has made the Prize the most prestigious research award in sustainable finance.

Last year’s winners Lilian Ng (a judge this year), Rui Dai and Hao Liang found socially responsible customers can infuse socially responsible business behavior in suppliers. In 2018, Abigail Sussman and Samuel Hartzmark presented causal evidence that investors market-wide value sustainability.

25th Annual Moskowitz Prize: Eligibility

  • Both published papers and working papers are eligible. Working papers should be of a quality suitable for publication in a peer-reviewed academic journal.
  • Papers will be considered for the Prize only once.
  • Past winners are welcome to enter the competition with new work, and multiple submissions from an author/group of authors are accepted.

Judging the 25th Annual Moskowitz Prize

Each year’s prize-winning paper is selected by a panel of judges from academia and the investment industry. Honorable mentions or additional monetary prizes may be awarded at the judges’ discretion.

Judging criteria include:

  • Significance to practitioners of sustainable and/or responsible investment
  • Innovativeness of research question and approach
  • Appropriateness and rigor of methods

2020 Judges are as follows

Brad Barber

Maurice J. and Marcia G. Gallagher Chair in Finance, Graduate School of Management, UC Davis

Brian Bruce

CEO & Chief Investment Officer, Hillcrest Asset Management

Dave Chen

Chairman, Equilibrium Capital; Adjunct Professor of Finance, Faculty Lead of Impact Investing, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University

Francesca Cornelli

Dean, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University

Jeroen Derwall

Tenured Assistant Professor of Finance, Maastricht University; Associate Professor, Open Univeriteit; Co-Founder, ECCE – The European Center for Sustainable Finance

Dan DiBartolomeo

CEO, Northfield Information Services

Caroline Flammer

Associate Professor of Strategy & Innovation Dean’s Research Scholar, Boston University

Lisa Goldberg

Adjunct Professor of Economics and Statistics, Co-Director Consortium for Data Analytics in Risk, UC Berkeley ; Director of Research, Aperio Group

Nadja Guenster

Professor of International Financial Management, University of Münster

Ravi Jagannathan

CME Group/John F. Sandner Chair of Finance,
Co-Director, Financial Institutions and Markets Research Center, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University

Kees Koedijk

Professor of Finance, Tilburg University

Philipp Krueger

Associate Professor of Responsible Finance, University of Geneva;

Lloyd Kurtz

Senior Portfolio Manager, Wells Fargo; Visiting Scholar, Northwestern University

Lilian Ng

Professor of Finance, Scotiabank Chair in International Finance, Schulich School of Business, York University

Mitchell Peterson

Glen Vasel Professor of Finance,
Director of the Heizer Center for Private Equity and Venture Capital, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University

Pietra Rivoli

Professor, McDonough School of Business, Georgetown University

Ayako Yasuda

Professor of Finance, UC Davis

25th Annual Moskowitz Prize Award Details

The winning paper author(s) will receive a monetary award of $7,500, while the runner-up paper’s author(s) will receive a monetary award of $2,500.

The winning paper’s authors will also be invited to present to the global Impact & Sustainable Finance Faculty Consortium. Reasonable travel expenses will be covered.

The Journal of Investing customarily accepts the winning paper for publication, although this is not a requirement or certainty and occurs at the discretion of the author.

Submission Requirements

  • An anonymized PDF copy of your paper (only include title; remove author names
  • A non-anonymized PDF copy of your paper (include title and author names)
  • Submitting author contact information
  • Names and contact information for additional authors
  • Apply Now.

Questions on the 25th Annual Moskowitz Prize

For questions regarding submission, please contact Prize Administrator Devin Rapson at devin.rapson@kellogg.northwestern.edu; for other questions regarding the Prize, please contact Faculty Co-Chair Lloyd Kurtz at lloyd.kurtz@kellogg.northwestern.edu.


, , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes