Investor Responsibility Research Center Institute (IRRCi) Awards

IRRCi Investor Research Award Submission Deadline 9/15

Investor Responsibility Research Center Institute (IRRCi) AwardsThe Investor Responsibility Research  Center Institute (IRRCi)  is accepting submissions for its fourth annual Investor Research Award competition for research that examines the interaction between the real economy and investment theory. Practitioners and academics are invited to submit research papers by September 15, 2015, for consideration by a blue-ribbon panel of judges with deep finance and investment experience.

Two research papers – one academic and one practitioner – each will receive the 2015 IRRCi Research Award along with a $10,000 award. The winning papers also will be presented at the December 9, 2015, forum of the Millstein Center for Global Markets and Corporate Ownership at Columbia University in New York, NY.

The panel of world-class judges for the Investor Research Award includes:

  • Mark Anson, Chief Investment Officer, Acadia Investment Management
  • Collette Chilton, Chief Investment Officer, Williams College
  • Robert Dannhauser, Head of Capital Markets Policy, CFA Institute
  • James Hawley, Professor & Director, Elfenworks Center for Fiduciary Capitalism, Saint Mary’s College of California
  • Robert Jackson, Jr., Faculty Co-Director, Ira M. Millstein Center for Global Markets and Corporate Governance and Associate Professor of Law and Milton Handler Fellow at Columbia Law School
  • Nell Minow, Governance Expert and Columnist, Huffington Post.

Biographies of the Investor Research Award judges are available here.

According to said IRRCi executive director Jon Lukomnik,

The IRRCi research competition has rapidly become a prominent award garnering significant attention amongst the investment community, academia and policymakers. Last year, the winning research was covered by major media outlets including The Wall Street JournalThe New York Times and CNBC.

The award competition highlights innovative research focused on the nexus between real world economy activity and investment theory. The addition of a new judge this year, Bob Dannhauser with CFA Institute, will further strengthen the careful assessment of the research submissions and reinforces the gravitas of this award.

Award submissions are accepted online here. Submissions may be an original work created specifically for the IRRCi Research Award, or relevant unpublished papers, or papers that have been published after July 1, 2014. Winning papers will be published by the IRRCi on its website. IRRCi also will distribute the winning papers to some 6,000 individuals interested in the organization’s research.

As noted on the IRRCi web site, Modern Portfolio Theory (MPT) has dominated investment theory for a half century. MPT focuses on security selection, portfolio construction, and other financial issues rather than the intersection of the real economy and investing. Simultaneously, the growing importance of the private sector relative to the public sector in the real economy has increased scrutiny of private sector behavior and economic activity. The IRRCi Investor Research Award encourages new research that analyzes how investments interact with real world economic activity.

More information regarding the award process, submission guidelines and calendar is available here, along with the award submission form and Frequently Asked Questions.IRRCi

The Investor Responsibility Research Center Institute is a nonprofit research organization that funds academic and practitioner research that enables investors, policymakers, and other stakeholders to make data-driven decisions. IRRCi research covers a wide range of topics of interest to investors, is objective, unbiased, and disseminated widely.

, , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes